Skip to Content

College of Education

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee advises the Dean on matters referred to it by the faculty, college committees, or the Dean.

The work of the committee includes, but is not limited to:

  • Advising the Dean on matters referred to it by the faculty, college committees, or the Dean
  • Identifying and referring issues, policy questions and other necessary business to the appropriate Departmental, College, or University committees for action
  • Identifying student representation for the College committees needing such representation
  • Receiving and maintaining records of the meetings of college committees
  • Monitoring and reviewing multicultural and affirmative action activities in the College
  • Recommending to the College Faculty Chairperson the formation of ad hoc committees
  • Drafting proposals for revision of the College By-Laws as needed
  • Establishing guidelines for the selection of faculty officers

Committee Membership

The College Steering Committee is comprised of the chairs of the other four standing committees of the College, the Faculty Chairperson, and the Faculty Chairperson-Elect. The Faculty Chairperson will have the responsibility to make up to three additional appointments to be certain that every department is represented on the Steering Committee.

Ex-officio: Dean of the College of Education or designee  

Committee terms: two years for faculty.

2017-2018 Members:

Kara Brown

Committee Chair

Linda Nilges-Charles

Committee Chair Elect

David Stodden


Christine Lotter


Peter Moyi

Diversity Committee

Mitch Yell

Faculty Welfare Committee

Matt Irvin

Student Affairs Committee

Jon Pedersen (Ex-Officio)


Committee Minutes

For minutes not listed below, please consult the archive [pdf] of past meeting minutes.

2017 minutes will be added here as they are archived.

There are currently no archived minutes for 2016.

There are currently no archived minutes for 2015.

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.