Skip to Content

School of Music

  • Banner Image

Southern Exposure New Music Series

Southern Exposure 2012–2013 Season

Sept. 28, 2012         
Percussion Extravangaza:  Meehan/Perkins Duo, Stuart Gerber,
USC Percussion Ensemble, Feeney/Hennies/Stuart Trio

Nagoya Marimbas – Steve Reich
Straits – John Supko
Bloom – Ivan Trevino
Regenstück 1-6 – Peter Ablinger
Himmels-Tür – Karlheinz Stockhausen

Oct. 26, 2012        
Pierrot Lunaire – A Hundredth Anniversary Celebration
USC School of Music Faculty, cond. by Morihiko Nakahara
Presentation on Pierrot by J. Daniel Jenkins
Pierrot Lunaire – Arnold Schoenberg

Feb. 22, 2013        
Polygraph Lounge (Mark Stewart and Rob Schwimmer) with Melissa Fathman
Continuum Duo – Mark Stewart
What Am I Touching Now?  – Amy Kohn
No Place to Go But Around – Frederic Rzewski
Where the Bee Sucks*  – David Lang (premiere of this arrangement)
Pay Me Now*  – David Lang (premiere of this arrangement)
“Berceuse” from the Firebird – Igor Stravinsky, arr. Stewart
Electric Counterpoint  – Steve Reich
Clapping Music – Steve Reich
Supercoolminimalisticextrasonicmotion – Stewart / Schwimmer
CouldaWouldaShoulda – Stewart / Schwimmer
Jellyfish – Stewart / Schwimmer
Moby Dick – Spike Jones, arr. Stewart / Schwimmer
Somethin’ Stupid – Rogers / Hart
Kowsky! – Tchaikovsky, arr. Stewart / Schwimmer / Fathman

April 12 and 13, 2013     
Music for 18 Musicians, led by Phillip Bush (two concerts)
Conversation with Phillip Bush
Music for 18 Musicians – Steve Reich

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.